Review: What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

This is a non-spoiler review.

4/5 stars (Goodreads)

After taking a break from contemporary novels, I chose Julie Buxbaum’s “What To Say Next” as the novel I’d choose to return to the genre and I was not disappointed one bit. After really enjoying Julie Buxbaum’s “Tell Me Three Things”, I had high hopes for this novel as well and for the most part, it lived up to them very well.

This novel has quite the unique storyline and explores grief, tragedy, family and friendship in a very refreshing and enticing way. Starting with characters, from page one I was drawn into one of our protagonists, David. As this story is told from both David’s perspective and our other protagonists’ Kit’s perspective, we really get to see the voice of both characters. David’s voice was incredible and his different personality was written so well. You really got into his head and sympathized with him in certain situations because of his actions and thoughts. The same does go for Kit, and finding out how she’s dealing with her friends and family around her after her dad’s car accident. Kit is also half Indian and her race is talked about in the beginning chapters of the novel, and as an Indian girl myself, I not only appreciated the representation but found myself relating with Kit in those aspects.

This contemporary novel meshed together friendship, romance and disorders together and spoke about them all in a way that was entertaining while simultaneously being eye-opening. I think the only thing that’s keeping me from giving it 5/5 stars was the way the novel ended. It seemed very sudden and I felt like it needed more to have a satisfying and substantial ending. However, I would still definitely recommend this book to others đŸ™‚

Have you read this novel? What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Review: What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum

Leave a Reply

