Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

This is going to be a complete non-spoiler review.

Stars: 4/5

Okay, so I really enjoyed “Every Last Word” by Tamara Ireland Stone for so many reasons.

The book focuses on a girl in high school who has purely-obsessional OCD. I have to say that I’ve read a lot of books about OCD and mental illnesses in general, but this one stands out from all the others because of the small details that were mentioned. I read the authors note at the end of the novel where Tamara Ireland Stone basically talked about the research she did in order to write this novel. Everything is very authentic and you can see that throughout the entire story as well.

The other focus of this novel is Poetry. Again, this wasn’t done in a simple way, but there were so many small little details that brought the story to life as well as made everything more interesting to read. Seeing how our main character Sam interacted with other people and her hobbies while struggling with her OCD was super eye opening for me.

This book teaches you a lot about the purely-obsessional type of OCD, which I hadn’t heard about before reading this novel. I liked how much I learned about the disorder, as well as how much I learned about poetry as well.

I have to say that this story was very unique. When novels tackle mental illnesses, from the ones that I have read, I often feel like they always make the protagonist with the mental illness very shy and reserved and social awkward. While this is an authentic representation for some people who do suffer from a mental illness, I liked how “Every Last Word” took a different take with the protagonist completely.

I found it really easy to connect with the characters in different ways. Each one really stood out in the way that they were described. Specifically, the way friendships were developed throughout this novel in different ways was very much relatable and really helped to weave the story together in certain ways.

 

I definitely recommend this novel to everyone 🙂 Have you read this novel? What were your thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

  1. I’ll definitely have to check this book out further. Thanks for introducing it to me, and for an awesome review! Also, I love the setup of your blog. =)

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad it was a helpful 🙂
      I’m actually also pretty new to this whole blogging thing but I guess what I’ve learned so far is to just post when you can and interact with the community!
      I’ll definitely be sure to check out your blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

