REVIEW: THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED BY BECKY ALBERTALLI

Hello! This is going to be the first time I’m trying out a non-spoiler review because I feel as though those can be really helpful to people who are looking to possibly pick up the book. I’m also going to change up the format of how I review these, rather than having plain paragraphs I’m going to try to follow a structure. Bear with me while I figure out what works best for you as the readers as well as me as the reviewer person thing 😛

Anyways, the book I’m reviewing today is “The Upside of Unrequited” by Becky Albertalli. To start, I just have to say this is going to be a very very very positive review. I very much so enjoyed the novel for several reasons which I’ll highlight in this review, but I highly recommend you all pick it up.

Rating: 5/5

Characters:

So I think something that really added to this story were the personality’s and quirks that each different character had. Not only did it make the novel more interesting but it made everything feel a lot more personal. For instance, Reid and the cadbury cream eggs! And his “questionable taste in icing flavours.” Like, that was actually adorable.

Reid himself was such a cute character. I loved his nerdy nature and joke-y dialogue with Molly. Everything about him screamed perfection honestly.

I also have to mention that one major reason I adored this novel is because of how much I relate to our main character, Molly. She has so many little quirks, like I mentioned earlier, that are similar to my own. Additionally, her dialogue in the first few chapters was so incredibly relatable.

ALSO XAVIER THE BABY IS ADORABLE I LOVED THE BABY. Oh yeah, there’s a baby in this book. And he’s so cute.

Story:

This novel does a fantastic job of covering several relevant and important topics. It doesn’t just stick to one but it really shines light on several different topics that really added to the storyline.

Firstly, there’s the topic of family. I really loved how Molly and Cassie’s family were involved in this story and how their lives were part of the plot. Seeing the family dynamics play out made the story so much more authentic for me, especially the heart to heart moments that payed out throughout the novel.

In addition to that, there’s the LGBTQ+ community involved, which yet again really added to the novel in a positive way. Having Molly and Cassie’s parents be a lesbian couple who actually went through the IVF/test tube baby process was super interesting to have as a part of the story.

Thirdly, there’s the self acceptance topic that this book covers. This is specifically with body image when it comes to Molly and I really enjoyed seeing how her confidence develops throughout the novel and the way she deals with it. I liked how it wasn’t something that really held her back from other events in the novel, but it was touched on enough to make a very valid point, that being to always love yourself no matter what.

Lastly, this is probably the least relevant topic the book mentioned but it’s the difficulty with long distance friendships. Our main character Molly’s best friend Abby lives miles away from where she does. Being someone who also leaves miles away from their best friend, I yet again related so hard to the way Molly and Abby interacted with each other. I really do appreciate that that was interwoven into the story, even if it was just a little bit.

 

That’s all I really have to say about this novel without spoiling it. Like I said everyone should definitely pick up this book if they’re looking for a cute romance with relevant and important topics included throughout the story again. I’ll end with one of my favourite quotes from this book, which is “Love is worth wanting.” ❤

Leave a Reply

