Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Rating: 5/5

NON- SPOILER SECTION:

Okay so I read this book all in one sitting and let’s just say it is one hell of an emotional roller coaster. Having read all of Colleen Hoover’s other books, I don’t think this one was the best but it definitely lives up to her past work. The writing isn’t super special, but the story is, and when reading a contemporary novel, I don’t think there is need for there to be a super new and unique writing style. There were parts of this book that were really dark and I found some of it super hard to read, but in a good way! Colleen Hoover has this way of taking a situation and giving you the “naked truth” (winks to anyone who’s read the book and gets that) of the whole thing. Some of the situations were so heartbreaking to read it really makes you think twice about how lucky you are to have what you do. I really loved the characters seeing the development overtime because if you think about it, the time span of this book is from when the main character is 15 to when she is 25. Well, it’s more like 23-25, but we get past stories from when she was 15, so I would say that the whole book covers around 4 years. And over those years, seeing the way the characters meet and change the way they act is amazing.

My favourite character was for sure Alyssa, I think it was lovely having that sister/best friend vibe for the protagonist, Lily. I also loved Alyssa and Marshall’s storyline πŸ™‚

I highly recommend this book, it is one of the realest stories I may have ever read.

SPOILER SECTION:

Okay so there was so much happening in this book I don’t know where to start. How about with the journal entry’s.

I thought how she wrote all of them to Ellen was adorable. At first I thought I wasn’t gonna like it but it grew on me. I also think the fact that Lily used to journal frequently says a lot about her personality, and we learned a lot about why she hates her father so much through that.

It was so interesting to read this book and learn more about how much perspectives matter in situations like Lily and Ryle’s. It’s so easy to blame someone in an abusive relationship for not leaving the other person, but reading this book was an eye-opener as to what people in these situations are going through.

The first time Lily and Ryle met I was like OH MY GOSH YOU GUYS ARE GREAT. And their whole conversation that night with all the stories was so much fun to read.

When we see Atlas for the first time since Maine at the restaurant I was first pretty shocked but then I was like AWW HE HAS A RESTAURANT I’M SO HAPPY FOR HIM, because with the cookies and everything it was so cool to see that he had grown so much and was now making a living for himself and that he had a pretty good life (minus the fact that he didn’t have Lily in it before that). It was the same feeling when Lily opened up the flower shop. It was so cool to see them both pursuing their passions.

Okay did anyone else LOVE Ryle’s mom? I felt like she was the epitome of adorable, with the voice mails that she left for Ryle and how much she loved him. Honestly, their whole family had this amazing feel to them which we could see when Lily met Ryle’s parents for the first time. I love how Colleen Hoover showed that contrast of family lifestyles, from what Lily was forced to grow up with to what Ryle was lucky to have.

I think there were two moments in this book that were the most heartbreaking for me. The first one is when we first find out about how Emerson died. Just to hear all of that and know that Ryle’s life was turned upside down when he was just six and that he’s been going to therapy ever since was so crazy. Like can you imagine having to live with that? It opened up a whole new side to Ryle and his personality.

The second moment was when Atlas came back to Lily and told her about how he had planned to end his life when he walked into the house across from hers. We already knew a lot about how Atlas had a really problematic childhood and how he had to go serve in the military for 8 years and hearing this after knowing how hard he worked to get his life in a good place was both heartbreaking and amazing to hear. Heartbreaking because it’s so horrible that he had to be in that position, but amazing because it shows that through Lily he was able to come out of that hole and fix his life for the better.

Okay when Ryle pushed her down the stairs I really did believe him when he said that she fell. I guess I wanted to believe him just like Lily did, but when we found out he had actually pushed her, this was the point in the book where I was leaning more towards the side of wanting them to not be together.

The biggest shock was for sure when we found out Lily was pregnant. It was such a horrible part of the book (in a good way!) because everything was just so wrong in Lily’s life with Ryle just having left to England, and Colleen Hoover did an amazing job or displaying the stress and anxiety that was caused because of this upcoming baby.

I really like the time Lily spent at Atlas’ house. It was also great to see that Atlas who was once homeless, now has this home for himself πŸ™‚

I was really pleased with the ending, everything turned out how I wanted it. I wasn’t sure whether I actually wanted Atlas and Lily to get back together, but the last chapter did convince me. I was happy that Ryle was still part of Emmy’s life, but that him and Lily were not together.

 

What were your thoughts on this book? Do you agree or disagree with what I’ve said? Please leave your thoughts in the comments so we can discuss!

3 thoughts on “Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. I love this book. I loved the resolution to it, like it’s not the usual Collen Hoover novel you see. It is a happily ever after, but it was because Lily made the right choices for the sake f her and their daughter. My favourite character in this book though would be Rile’s sister. She is just so cute!

    Like

Leave a Reply

