Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Rating: 5/5

NON- SPOILER SECTION:

So this book was absolutely fabulous. There is so much to it that I cannot being to explain, and in all honesty, this review is going to be a pretty short one because I don’t really have words for how much I enjoyed this book. Let’s just say I enjoyed it a lot. The whole plot of there being a monster and seeing it from a 13 year old’s point of  view gives this book a unique character. Speaking of characters, all the characters in this book are done amazingly, and seeing them interact with each other and watching their dialogue go back in forth was super interesting, especially between Conor and Harry. Even though the language in this book is fairly simple, Patrick Ness, still manages to make it something interesting to read, especially with the monster’s dialogue. I really liked how he took an idea for the plot line that is actually seen in many books nowadays, but put his own spin on it that I have never seen in any other book before.It became something different and it makes you think a lot. Let’s just say, I learned a lot from this book, and I highly recommend it to everyone.

DO NOT READ BELOW IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO BE SPOILED

SPOILER SECTION:

So wow. Wow.wow.wow. This book guys. It was so good. Like I said words, can’t put together how much I loved this story. But I’ll do my best to break it down.

Like I said before, we see a lot of characters dealing with cancer in many books nowadays, it’s kind of a topic that I’ve seen a lot, and often it feels repetitive from book to book with the way that it is done. Now I know it is a sensitive topic, but the way that Patrick Ness addressed it, with this monster in Conor’s life that wants him to admit a truth about how he feels about his mother’s situation as a whole is just crazy genius. Like the whole end scene, where Conor is in his nightmare and let’s go of his mother and then he has to go to her in the hospital and tell her the truth was written SO WELL that like it really got to me.

Secondly, the way the monster spoke and the stories it told were amazing. I also loved the idea of it being a tree monster from the yew tree. Some of the lines the monster said were just so though provoking that I had to stop reading and be like oh my gosh, it’s right. It really makes you think about some topics and I love that.

Okay, lets talk about the Harry and Conor interactions. That last line that Harry says to Conor, the “I no longer see you” one just made me like, I don’t even know how to explain. It’s like I was witnessing it in real life from the side and I like took in a breathe like woah he just said that. Like that line to me is kind of poetic in a way that it’s phrased but also it’s so deep with the way it then ties in with Conor being the invisible man, and the monster telling him the second story.

At the end, when Conor receives his “punishment” I thought that was incredible. All those times he didn’t get into trouble led up to this moment and it was done so beautifully.

For some reason, a scene that really stuck with me was when Conor broke the really old clock in his grandmothers house. I don’t know why but I felt like that had a lot of things attached to it, like the destruction he would then cause within the entire room, and the fact that he wanted to move time forward just to see the monster again. It was a really interesting part to read.

The ending of this book was very satisfying. I felt at peace with Conor’s moms death (did we ever find out her name?) I felt like all the loose ends were wrapped up and like I thought it was so genius how the monster visited every night at the exact same time that Conor’s mom would eventually die at. Finding that out at the end really helped tie the story together and bring it to a close (in my opinion).

Overall, like I said, I love this book. Sorry if this review is all over the place, but I truly mean it when I say I find it really hard to put into words how much I loved this story.

Have you read this book? Do you agree or disagree with anything I said? Leave a comment down below, let’s discuss! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

  1. I just checked this out from the library, I couldn’t believe I found it! It seems perfect for the darker, colder nights 😀 Thanks for making me want to read it even more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

