Top 8 Trilogies!

Hey guys 🙂 Today I wanted to share with you some trilogies which I really enjoyed reading. Some of them are pretty well known, but hopefully you find something you haven’t heard of or some reassurance to read a trilogy I mention that may have been on your TBR for some time now.

I have also tried to include several different genres from contemporary to fantasy to dystopia as well as for different ages (New adult, young adult and middle grade) Sooo let’s start!

PS. I know that 8 is an odd number haha but I didn’t have enough for 10, and too many for 5, so bear with me 🙂

(There are no spoilers and this list is in no specific order)

1. The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu
Dystopia, YA

There is so much to this trilogy that I absolutely adore. The characters have so much depth and development throughout the novel that you don’t just fall in love with them but you fall in love with the way they interact with each other, and the relationships within the story. The plot is also very unique and interesting, even if it includes a couple of cliche book tropes, but I think that aspect doesn’t effect the greatness of these trilogy at all. It has such an interesting view on poverty and in contrast the view of a rich kid, and seeing those two characters interact is done in such a flawless way in this series. There are also kickass female characters so that’s always a a plus 🙂 When I finished this trilogy I genuinely felt lost, like I had no idea what to do with myself. It’s just so good.

Books:

2. The Juliette Chronicles by Tahereh Mafi
Fantasy/Paranormal/Sci-fi, YA

This trilogy was something I read purely because of how much I saw it on social media and on Booktube. However, I am so happy I actually did find it and read it because it’s amazing. This whole trilogy has a very poetic writing style to it, making it super interesting to read as well as something unique. Not only are the words poetic but so are the visuals of the book as well (I’m talking about the strike-outs of words in these books). I also think the way the plot is structured that makes you re-think everything you may have thought you knew about certain characters is fantastic, and that the character development throughout the novels really help to highlight this. Also, not really related to the book but Tahereh Mafi is actually wonderful and is basically goals like her Instagram and fashion sense is spot on AND she’s an amazing author 🙂

Books:

3. Miss Peregrine’s Trilogy by Ransom Riggs
Fantasy/Paranormal, YA

This is another series I read because of other people giving me really high reviews of it. I would also like to say that I highly recommend buying the physical copies of these books rather than reading the eBook. I say this because I read the first two on my kindle and the last one as a physical copy and I definitely saw the difference. These books have amazing vintage photos intertwined with the story which brings the story to life even more in such a different way that I hadn’t seen before. I also think the whole storyline/plot/idea is really cool and interesting, and learning about each individuals’ ability and such makes this book the unique way it is.

Books:

4. Rebel Belle Trilogy by Rachel Hawkins
Realistic Fantasy (not a genre, but a good way to describe it), YA

Okay so let me explain what I mean by realistic fantasy. So, to put it plainly, the trilogy is for sure a fantasy trilogy. However, the writing style is very similar to that of a realistic fiction contemporary novel, and the problems and issues in the book relate to that genre as well, which is one of the reasons I really enjoyed this trilogy. It was a way to read fantasy that was a little more lighthearted, which was fun to hear the characters talking about prom and not having the love relationships in the novel be super dramatic, but the whole realisticness (I am aware this is not a real word) added to the main fantasy element made this entire trilogy’s story amazing.

Books:

5. Summer Trilogy by Jenny Han
Contemporary/Romance, YA

Okay, even though the girl in this book did not end up with the guy I wanted at the end, IT’S OKAY. Yes, it is a typical love triangle book that is set in the summer, but there is a unique family dynamic in this trilogy that makes the story not only more thoughtful, but have darker parts which are more deep. It also shows a lot of the stupid things that can come from teenage love along with the amazing things it can come with. It is quite cliche, but I think that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable.

Books:

6. The Keepers Trilogy by Lian Tanner
Fantasy, Middle Grade

So I read these books when I was around 10 years old and I loved them to death. I recently re-read them and I for sure still think they are amazing books. The world that is created in this novel is different to any other world and that makes it beyond interesting to read about, and the fact that the main characters are children makes it not only relatable for younger people but also gives the story a sense of innocence which you can see when reading it. For example, the adults will in the novels will be faced with issues that the children see solutions to that the need to work together to achieve, and while they may seem far fetched, they could possibly work. The relationships between the characters in this trilogy are really really cool.

Books:

7. Slammed Trilogy by Colleen Hoover
Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Colleen Hoover is an author I very recently started reading and fell in love with as she writes a lot of new adult but a fair amount of young adult as well (If I’m not mistaken). Anyway, these books are probably my favourite books by her for many many reasons. Firstly, I liked the character dynamics and relationships, not only between the main couple but also between family, like mother and daughter as well as sibling relationships and seeing how that differed for both Layken and Will in the way they treated their brothers, and the way their brothers ended up being best friends. Everything just pieced together so thoughtfully that it was both interesting and fun to read the interactions. Secondly I think these books have a great plot. It’s not often we get contemporary series and we get to see the couple’s relationship play out through several books, so this series is definitely satisfactory and a mixed up problematic and cute romance.

Books:

8. The Mysterious Benedict Society Trilogy by Trenton Lee Stewart
Mystery/Adventure, Middle Grade 

Okay, I’m going to start out by saying that even though this is last on my last, that means nothing at all, because like I said, this list is in no specific order and this series proves this because I LOVE IT. Do not be fooled by the fact that it is Middle Grade. I think it would easily also be young adult because these books are so intelligent and well thought out and just so incredible. To start, the whole concept of their being these prodigy children that get together to help out this guy is amazing and it is done SO SO SO well in these books, every second of it is intriguing and you never want to put it down because you always want to know what is going to happen next and how things play out. It’s also so interesting to see the massive amount of intelligence there is in this book played out through the children, and how they talk to each other. Like I said, I think everyone should read these books because of how uniquely everything was laced together in the story. The mysteries are so much fun to read and I loved getting to see the little quirks each character brought. This is one of those trilogies that I urge everyone to read, no matter your age.

Books:

 

And that’s it 🙂 I hope you guys liked this post, let me know if I should do more top __’s like this one. Also, you should totally comment if you agree or disagree with some of the things if you’ve read some of the books I mentioned, I would love to read what you guys think and have to say about them.

Leave a Reply

