Top 10 YA Contemporary Novels

Before I start, I just wanted to say that this list is in no specific order and that it is 100% spoiler free 🙂

  1. Life In Outer Space by Melissa Kiel 

So there are many many reasons I love this book and I may be super enthusiastic about this one because I just read it but very briefly, the characters were so easy to fall in love with and I loved the idea behind all the different personalities. There were so many turns that I didn’t expect the novel to take, and it had me crying, laughing and throwing the book against the wall (which is a good thing, I promise!) Not to mention the main couple in the book is one of my biggest OTP’s now 🙂

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16119664-life-in-outer-space
  1. I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Cutesy, deep, adorable and lovely in every shape in form. This book not only makes you feel warm and fuzzy on the inside at times, but it also really makes you think and is written in such a unique way.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20820994-i-ll-give-you-the-sun
  1. The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Funny, hilarious, and maybe not 100% contemporary (ik I cheated a bit here) but still has all the contemporary vibes with very lovable characters.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22910900-the-rest-of-us-just-live-here
  1. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

This. Book. I will never understand why some people say things like they don’t like the characters, or they found it hard to read because I love this book. It again has a very unique writing style, and I think the first person narrative makes the book 100 times more interesting than if this same story was told in 3rd person. It made me cry and I am not a book crier, so that means something

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12700353-me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girl
  1. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

One of the sweetest and eye-opening books I’ve ever read. Has such an incredibly meaning and the events in the story are woven together flawlessly.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24445517-maybe-someday
  1. Slammed by Colleen Hoover

This being the first in a trilogy, grabbed my attention immediately. It took a somewhat common topic and turned it into something different and personalized. The characters all have such distinct personalities that are quick to catch on to while reading and interesting to read about when they interact. Love this book

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13372690-slammed
  1. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S King

I read this book a while back but all I remember is loving it. I remember falling in love with the story and the interesting character traits the author gave some of the characters. The story is again unique and hooking, and you really come to fall in love with Vera and her personality.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6665671-please-ignore-vera-dietz
  1. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

At first I didn’t like this book. I thought some things were forced and not to my liking. However, I have read this book twice since then and have completely changed my mind. Everything that is done in this book is done for a reason, which spins up together in the end for a great ending. There’s so much satisfaction in the end, and reading about a summer with these two boys felt like I was spending it with them as well.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12000020-aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-universe
  1. I Was Here by Gayle Forman

As one of the darker contemporaries I’ve read, I feel like Gayle Forman took a serious concept and wove it together with these amazing characters to create something so creative and interesting. The way the story follows along the main character’s missions to try to find something makes you feel like you’re part of the story as well.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18879761-i-was-here
  1. Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

This is yet another book I read ages back, but still love. It has elements of silly and crazy as well as serious and dark as well as happy and lovable. This book strings together many different situations and scenarios to make an unforgettable story

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/7818683-five-flavors-of-dumb

 

PS. as a little extra fact, I like reading contemporaries on my kindle for some reason, hence why it’s in the main picture. I’m not too sure why, I just do 🙂

5 thoughts on “Top 10 YA Contemporary Novels

  1. Loved this post 😀 I wanted to read I’ll Give You The Sun at one point but did not have a copy of the book so I couldn’t. Then I lost interest. But, since it is #2 on your list, it’s kinda convinced me to pick it up now that I do have a copy. Will read it this summer. Thank you 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

